Anderson .Paak - Venice

With its allusions to Low End Theory-styled electronic beats, chirpy radio pop and house, Brandon Anderson Paak's impressive, genre-blending debut, Venice, exemplifies R&B's post-Internet metamorphosis. But his roots run deeper than your typical Bandcamp rookie. Born in Oxnard and raised a Southern Baptist — he still plays drums every Sunday at St. Paul Baptist Church — Paak toiled in L.A.'s underground for years as Breezy Lovejoy, from busking as a session musician with innovative soul producer Shafiq Husayn to rapping and singing with experimental hip-hop crew Hellfyre Club. Around 2012, he switched to his government name. "It was hard for me to imagine introducing myself working with certain idols like Dr. Dre and Kanye West and introducing myself as Breezy Lovejoy. It made me cringe a little bit," he says. Anderson Paak's Venice arrives just as he's starting to gain wider notice, thanks to a opening slot on Watsky's tour and a duet with TOKiMONSTA for the electro-soul ballad "Realla." - Mosi Reeves,


A1 Waves  
A2 Milk And Honey  
A3 The City  
A4 Might Be  
B1 Miss Right  
B2 Put You On  
B3 Already  
B4 Dogtown  
C1 I Miss That Whip  
C2 Get Em Up  
C3 Paint  
C4 Drugs  
D1 Mike Doralude  
D2 Luh You  
D3 Right There  
D4 Off The Ground
Steel Wool Records ‎– ERE-LP-166, OBE ‎– ERE-LP-166
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album
Jul 2015
Electronic, Hip Hop, Funk / Soul, Pop
RnB/Swing, Electro, House


SKU 0888915051856
Barcode # 0888915051856
Brand Hip-Hop/Rap

More From This Category