Awolnation: Here Come the Runts

Following up a platinum certified debut and a second album that heralded a No.1 plus a couple more top 5 tracks can’t be a doddle. Multi-platinum artist AWOLNATION release  their third studio album, Here Come The Runts with no pressure eh?

Once again Aaron Bruno is at the helm. To all intents and purposes, AWOLNATION is now his nom de plume. The brand for his solo outpourings. Producer, writer, recorder, he’s gone on record as saying he was after making a proper rock’n’roll/pop album. I guess growing up listening to Springsteen, Petty, The Cars  and Dire Straits, it’s in his psyche and what you’d call a fair amount of prior learning. And yes, inevitably a hint of nostalgia.

So yes, the whole gamut of styles gets a testing on Here Come The Runts. Sweet Fifties styled surf rock pops up alongside wildly charged blasts of electricity and be prepared to experience a passionate display of vocal intensity. The title track opens proceedings with a fizzing electro beat and sets off a chain of events that whilst not providing something challenging, never reverts to predictable. Although you could possibly see Handyman in the hands of Coldplay.

At one point the thought springs to mind that this could be what Talking Heads in 2018 would or might be like.  In fact, a cross between the manic side of David Byrne, throw in a bit of Prince style falsetto and the occasional rage against something. A tad of ballsy rock, some eighties new romanticism and a bout of almost improvised weirdness surfaces – often veering off at a tangent mid track or in the WTF was that half minute of A Little Luck…And A Couple Of Dogs. - M. Ainscoa Feb. 2018

"... it’s easy to dismiss Awolnation as one-hit wonders; Here Come The Runts shows what a mistake that would be" - J.Azlewood Feb. 2018


A1 Here Come The Runts
A2 Passion
A3 Sound Witness System
A4 Miracle Man
A5 Handyman
A6 Jealous Buffoon
A7 Seven Sticks Of Dynamite
B1 A Little Luck... And A Couple Of Dogs
B2 Table For One
B3 My Molasses
B4 Cannonball
B5 Tall, Tall Tale
B6 The Buffoon
B7 Stop That Train


SKU 0844942052334
Barcode # 0844942052334
Brand Rock

More From This Category