The Beatles: Beatles For Sale

Sourced from the original master tapes and cut at Abbey Road Studios 

Pressed on 180-gram vinyl.

Optimum audiophile-quality sound from a first-rate team of producers and engineers

The Beatles were working, it seemed, at least nine days a week in late 1964. As a biography reflects, they'd been touring constantly, had just released A Hard Day's Night in June and were rushed back into a recording studio the week after they returned from America to record a new album and single in time for Christmas. "They were rather war-weary," producer George Martin said. With little time to write original songs, almost half of the Beatles for Sale LP consisted of covers the group had been playing onstage for years. The same day the Beatles finished "Eight Days a Week," they knocked out seven complete tracks. Beatles For Sale was released in the U.K. in December 1964. Beatles '65, its U.S. counterpart, did not include "Eight Days a Week." The song was released as a single in the U.S. two months later, and it went to No. 1.

QR+ says : "A very underated album, and was seen as a step backwards after A Hard Day's Night on which all tracks were Beatle penned. However the original songs on this were more varied, and the vocals from all and sundry, particularly the harmonies, superb. Also the recording, with it's genuine stereo spread was the best to date."


A1 No Reply
Backing Vocals – George, PaulLead Vocals – JohnWritten-By – Lennon-McCartney
A2 I'm A Loser
Backing Vocals – John, PaulLead Vocals – JohnWritten-By – Lennon-McCartney
A3 Baby's In Black
Lead Vocals – John, PaulWritten-By – Lennon-McCartney
A4 Rock And Roll Music
Lead Vocals – JohnPiano – George Martin, John Lennon, Paul McCartneyWritten-By – Berry
A5 I'll Follow The Sun
Lead Vocals – PaulWritten-By – Lennon-McCartney
A6 Mr. Moonlight
Drum [African] – George HarrisonLead Vocals – JohnOrgan [Hammond] – Paul McCartneyWritten-By – Johnson
A7 Kansas City
Lead Vocals – PaulWritten-By – Lieber-Stoller
B1 Eight Days A Week
Backing Vocals – GeorgeLead Vocals – John, PaulWritten-By – Lennon-McCartney
B2 Words Of Love
Lead Vocals – John, PaulOther [Packing Case] – Ringo StarrWritten-By – Holly
B3 Honey Don't
Lead Vocals – RingoWritten-By – Perkins
B4 Every Little Thing
Lead Vocals – John, PaulTimpani – Ringo StarrWritten-By – Lennon-McCartney
B5 I Don't Want To Spoil The Party
Lead Vocals – John, PaulWritten-By – Lennon-McCartney
B6 What You're Doing
Lead Vocals – PaulWritten-By – Lennon-McCartney
B7 Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
Lead Vocals – GeorgeWritten-By – Perkins


SKU 0094638241416
Barcode # 0094638241416
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category