Bob Dylan - The Freewheelin’

It's hard to overestimate the importance of The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan, the record that firmly established Dylan as an unparalleled songwriter, one of considerable skill, imagination, and vision. At the time, folk had been quite popular on college campuses and bohemian circles, making headway onto the pop charts in diluted form, and while there certainly were a number of gifted songwriters, nobody had transcended the scene as Dylan did with this record. There are a couple (very good) covers, with "Corrina Corrina" and "Honey Just Allow Me One More Chance," but they pale with the originals here. At the time, the social protests received the most attention, and deservedly so, since "Blowin' in the Wind," "Masters of War," and "A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall" weren't just specific in their targets; they were gracefully executed and even melodic. Although they've proven resilient throughout the years, if that's all Freewheelin' had to offer, it wouldn't have had its seismic impact, but this also revealed a songwriter who could turn out whimsy ("Don't Think Twice, It's All Right"), gorgeous love songs ("Girl From the North Country"), and cheerfully absurdist humor ("Bob Dylan's Blues," "Bob Dylan's Dream") with equal skill. This is rich, imaginative music, capturing the sound and spirit of America as much as that of Louis Armstrong, Hank Williams, or Elvis Presley. Dylan, in many ways, recorded music that equaled this, but he never topped it. AllMusic Review by  



A1 Blowin' In The Wind  
A2 Girl From The North Country  
A3 Masters Of War  
A4 Down The Highway  
A5 Bob Dylan's Blues  
A6 A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall  
B1 Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
Bass – Gene RameyBass Guitar – George BarnesDrums – Herb LovelleGuitar – Bruce LanghornePiano – Dick Wellstood
B2 Bob Dylan's Dream  
B3 Oxford Town  
B4 Talking World War III Blues  
B5 Corrina, Corrina
Adapted By, Arranged By – B. DylanBass – Leonard GaskinDrums – Herb LovelleGuitar – Bruce Langhorne, Howie CollinsPiano – Dick Wellstood
B6 Honey, Just Allow Me One More Chance  
B7 I Shall Be Free


SKU 0889854552817
Barcode # 0889854552817
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category