Boz Scaggs - Silk Degrees

Boz Scaggs is a unique and marvellous singer. His soulful voice can be, in turn, silky-smooth and sensual or funky and upbeat, depending on the material, but it is always compelling. This voice comes through superbly on the ten great tunes featured on "Silk Degrees". 
Scaggs, a solid composer in his own right, wrote three tracks on his own, co-wrote five more with David Paich. Paich contributed the delightful "Love Me Tomorrow" by himself while the remaining tune is a cover of Allen Toussaint's excellent "What Do You Want the Girl To Do". 
Stylistically, the compositions are a nice blend of Philly soul influenced pop and rock. 
The production is very slick and sophisticated thanks to the arrangements by future Toto's keyboardist David Paich, the orchestral direction (strings and brass) of Sid Sharp, as well as the soulful back-up vocals and the sheer artistry of all the musicians involved.
A classic of elegant, well crafted music.

Source: Speakers Corner Records, Germany

Recording: At Davlen Sound Studios & Hollywood Sound, Los Angeles, by Tom Perry
Production: Joe Wissert


A1 What Can I Say 2:59
A2 Georgia 3:54
A3 Jump Street 5:10
A4 What Do You Want The Girl To Do 3:49
A5 Harbor Lights 5:55
B1 Lowdown 5:15
B2 It's Over 2:48
B3 Love Me Tomorrow 3:14
B4 Lido Shuffle 3:40
B5 We're All Alone 4:10



SKU 5060149620946
Barcode # 5060149620946
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category