Bruch: Scottish Fantasy / Hindemith: Violin Concerto - David Oistrakh, London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jascha Horenstein and Paul Hindemith

Max Bruch’s Scottish Fantasia is a late-Romantic work which is seldom found on concert hall programmes today. One realises after listening to the piece for the first time that the composition proves to be at least as solid and artistic as all the other works of the composer.
The London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Jascha Horenstein gives a sonorous interpretation of the melancholic which, according to Bruch, depicted an aged minstrel who, while gazing upon the ruins of an ancient keep, ponders over the splendid days gone by. The well-known slender but warm timbre of David Oistrakh’s violin is well suited to this music which was inspired by Scotland.
David Oistrakh demonstrates his versatility in this performance of Hindemith’s Violin Concerto, written in 1939, where he effortlessly mesmerises the audience with breakneck cascades of scales. With many years of experience in the performance of modern music, the London Symphony Orchestra, led by the composer himself, prove that they are a match for this work.
This DECCA recording offers first class interpretations of two great masterpieces from differing eras that have been acclaimed widely and have reached far beyond the circle of Oistrakh fans.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.

Recording:October 1962 at the Walthamstow Town Hall, London by Arthur Lilley and Alan Reeve / Production: Erik Smith


  Scottish Fantasia, Op. 46  
A1 Introduction (Grave)  
A2 1. Adagio Cantabile  
A3 2. Allegro  
A4 3. Andante Sostenuto  
A5 4. Finale (Allegro Guerriero)  
  Violin Concerto  
B1 1. Mässig Bewegte Halbe  
B2 2. Langsam  
B3 3. Lebhaft


SKU 4260019710390
Barcode # 4260019710390
Brand Classical