Buddy Guy & Junior Wells - Play The Blues

The southern-style, Rhythm & Blues album Play The Blues by Buddy Guy & Junior Wells was recorded in the Miami Criteria Studios in the second half of 1970. Nevertheless, Guy was not able to leave Chicago out of this album with tracks such as "Bad Bad Whiskey" and "My Baby She Left Me."

This is probably the best recordings Guy & Wells ever made, sounding clean and smooth. An excellent blues album from two masters in blues!


  • Accompanied By [Foot Tapping] – Juke Joint Jimmy
  • Bass – Carl Dean Radle* (tracks: A1), Danny Klein* (tracks: B2, B5), Leroy Stewart
  • Drums – Jim Gordon (tracks: A1), Roosevelt Shaw, Stephen Bladd
  • Electric Guitar [Lead, Rhythm] – Buddy Guy
  • Harmonica – Junior Wells, Magic Dick (tracks: B2, B5)
  • Organ, Piano – Mike Utley*
  • Piano – Dr. John (tracks: A1), Seth Justman (tracks: B2, B5)
  • Producer – Ahmet Ertegun, Eric Clapton, Michael Cuscuna (tracks: B2, B5), Tom Dowd
  • Recorded By – Richard Oulleppe (tracks: B2, B5), Ron Albert
  • Rhythm Guitar – J. Geils (tracks: B2, B5)
  • Rhythm Guitar, Slide Guitar [Bottleneck] – Eric Clapton
  • Tenor Saxophone – A.C. Reed
  • Vocals – Junior Wells


A1 A Man Of Many Words 4:00
A2 My Baby Left Me (She Left Me A Mule To Ride) 3:07
A3 Come On In This House - Have Mercy Baby 4:19
A4 T - Bone Shuffle 4:16
A5 A Poor Man's Plea 3:11
B1 Messin' With The Kid 2:11
B2 This Old Fool 4:43
B3 I Don't Know 4:26
B4 Bad Bad Whiskey 4:12
B5 Honeydripper 3:29


SKU 8719262005242
Barcode # 8719262005242
Brand Blues

More From This Category