Cheap Trick - Cheap Trick

Cheap Trick proved to a thrilled audience that a band in the late seventies could stay in the limelight over many years without having to reinvent rock ’n’ roll. Any band that wanted to survive as an opening act for such top bands as Queen, Kiss and Boston simply had to be either courageous, naive or give a really good show. That Cheap Trick brought their audience to boiling point in a suspiciously similar fashion to such groups as the Beatles, Hollies and Bee Gees, can now be relived by listening to their present debut album. The boys from Illinois realized that a special magic lay in their early numbers and perform here the very best titles from their earlier live acts, which are just as good in these days as in the past. They really get down to business with their »playful, perverse lyrics« (Crawdaddy), which deal with anything from delicate to precarious issues ("Daddy Should Have Stayed In High School" and "He’s A Whore"). »Cheap Trick is not important for their great innovative qualities but for their considerable entertainment value«, wrote the critical music magazine Melody Maker. Old and new rock fans will revel in this album.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. More information under 
All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.

  • Recording: 1976 at The Record Plant, New York, by Jay Messina 
  • Production: Jack Douglas
  • Pressed at Pallas, Germany on 180 gm vinyl


A1 Hot Love 2:30
A2 Speak Now Or Forever Hold Your Peace 4:34
A3 He's A Whore 2:42
A4 Mandocello 4:46
A5 The Ballad Of T.V. Violence (I'm Not The Only Boy) 5:12
B1 Elo Kiddies 3:42
B2 Daddy Should Have Stayed In High School 4:42
B3 Taxman, Mr. Thief 4:15
B4 Cry, Cry 4:20
B5 Oh, Candy 3:06


SKU 4260019714817
Barcode # 4260019714817
Brand Rock/Pop

Others Also Bought

More From This Category

Airto: Free (LP)

Airto: Free (LP)


Make 4 interest-free payments of $12.25 fortnightly and receive your order now.