Chet Baker Sextet - Chet Is Back

Recorded in Rome, Italy at RCA's studios, Chet Is back! is the 1962 studio album by the undisputed master of the trumpet, Chet Baker. Backed by a group of up-and-coming European jazz musicians, which included Belgian saxophonist Bobby Jaspar, Belgian guitarist Rene Thomas, Italian pianist Amedeo Tommasi, French bassist Benoit Quersin, and Swiss drummer Daniel Humair, according to critics Chet Baker may have never sounded better.

The album features compositions by other jazz musicians like Thelonious Monk's "Well, You Needn't", Charlie Parker's "Barbados" and Sonny Rollins' "Pent Up House". The album also includes an original composition by Amedeo Tommasi entitled "Ballata in forma di blues". Ballads are featured as well, including the classic Academy Award-winning "Over the Rainbow".


A1 Well, You Needn't 6:23
A2 These Foolish Things 4:56
A3 Barbados 8:26
A4 Star Eyes 6:58
B1 Over The Rainbow 3:30
B2 Pent-Up House 6:51
B3 Ballata In Forma Di Blues 10:06
B4 Blues In The Closet 7:41


  • Bass – Benoit Quersin
  • Drums – Daniel Humair
  • Guitar – René Thomas
  • Piano – Amedeo Tommasi
  • Tenor Saxophone, Flute – Bobby Jaspar
  • Trumpet – Chet Baker


SKU 8718469535408
Barcode # 8718469535408
Brand Jazz

More From This Category