David Bowie -Young Americans

Young Americans represented David Bowie's dive into soul music, particularly Philly Soul. Containing the stunning funk single "Fame," the album felt like a vehicle for Bowie to address one of his favorite topics—pop stardom—from a new angle, at a moment when it seemed likely to destroy him.

The soul-inspired album that came out of the Sigma Sound recordings, Young Americans, was yet another new direction for an artist who staked his career on ceaselessly finding new directions. It was also the first time he’d made an album whose chief purpose was pleasure. There’s nothing like the apocalyptic visions of Ziggy Stardust and Diamond Dogs on Young Americans; it’s as smart as anything he’d recorded before it, but also relaxed and limber-hipped enough for his hardcore fans’ less alienated big sisters and little brothers to get into. And it was the first of his records to feature Carlos Alomar, the ingenious rhythm guitarist who would become his live band’s musical director for more than a decade. Rating 8.7/10 - Douglas Wolk pitchfork.com Jan. 2016


A1 Young Americans 5:10
A2 Win 4:44
A3 Fascination 5:43
A4 Right 4:13
B1      Somebody Up There Likes Me           6:30
B2 Across The Universe 4:30
B3 Can You Hear Me 5:04
B4 Fame 4:12 


SKU 0190295990343
Brand Rock/Pop

Others Also Bought

More From This Category