David Byrne - American Utopia 

To some, David Byrne is a wild-eyed performer who once rocked an oversized suit and wrote some of the eighties most eccentric and charming singles. To others, he’s a creative tour de force, a tirelessly original thinker always looking at fun and fresh ways in which to articulate what’s on his mind. On the strength of his latest release, the truth is somewhere in between... 'American Utopia' is Byrne’s first solo release in 14 years, not that he’s been resting on his laurels. 
Like most artists, Byrne has noticed that the world at large isn't doing particularly well of late. There's an air of cynicism and despair that can drag anyone down no matter their background or politics. 'American Utopia' is the perfect remedy to such feelings, an inquisitive and hopeful ray of sunshine filled with foot tapping beats and memorable wordplay.
With a little help from old buddy Brain Eno, in addition to younger guns like Sampha and Jam City, Byrne has managed to distil his unique brand of social commentary and fused it with a sense of joy too often missing from alternative music. Here stands a highly intelligent man, with deserved iconic status, unafraid to sing about chickens, dogs and soft boiled potatoes.
It's art, but who said art couldn't be playful? 
A well-timed treat delivered by one of music's most beloved eccentrics. Go explore.
Rating = 8/10 Reviewer: Sam Walker-Smart, March 2018 clashmusic.com


A1 I Dance Like This 3:34
A2 Gasoline And Dirty Sheets 3:20
A3 Every Day Is A Miracle 4:46
A4 Dog's Mind 2:30
A5 This Is That 4:31
B1 It's Not Dark Up Here 4:11
B2 Bullet 3:10
B3 Doing The Right Thing 3:39
B4 Everybody's Coming To My House 3:30
B5 Here 4:14


SKU 0075597932218
Barcode # 0075597932218
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category

Pixies: Doolittle (LP)

Pixies: Doolittle (LP)


Make 4 interest-free payments of $8.50 fortnightly and receive your order now.