Ella Fitzgerald - Newport Jazz Festival, Live At Carnegie Hall

This is a wonderful live album. Recorded toward the end of Ella's career, by concert's end it is apparent that she has about lost her voice, but not the audience's adoration. The album showcases her in various settings: with the (obviously) reconstituted Chick Webb Orchestra, with Ellis Larkins, with Joe Pass and with Tommy Flanagan (of course); the album also has some nods to the Webb Orchestra, noteworthy for late-career blowing by "Lockjaw" Davis. Highlights: "Nice Work If You Can Get It," "Good Morning Heartache" (an intended and most worthy tribute to Lady Day), "Miss Otis Regrets," the first encore of "Some of these Days," and intended set-ender of Ella doing what she does best, scatting through "Lemon Drop"


  • Released August 2010
  • Recorded July 5th 1973 at Carnegie Hall
  • Produced by John Hammond & Teo Macero
  • Concert producer: Norman Granz
  • Recording engineers: Stan Tonkel
  • Re-mastering by: Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London


A1 I've Gotta Be Me 3:04
A2 Good Morning Heartache 5:02
A3 Miss Otis Regrets (She's Unable To Lunch Today) 4:12
A4 Medley: Don't Worry 'Bout Me / These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You) 5:30
A5 Any Old Blue 4:44
B1 A-Tisket A-Tisket 2:22
B2 Indian Summer 4:41
B3 Smooth Sailing 3:06
B4 You Turned The Tables On Me 5:20
B5 Nice Work If You Can Get It 2:22
B6 I've Got A Crush On You 2:19
C1 Medley: Can't Get Started / The Young Man With The Horn / 'Round Midnight 9:00
C2 Star Dust 3:31
C3 C Jam Blues 11:51
D1 Medley: Taking A Chance On Love / I'm In The Mood For Love 3:07
D2 Lemon Drop 5:01
D3 Some Of These Days 4:31
D4 People 3:13



SKU 5060149621172
Barcode # 5060149621172
Brand Jazz

More From This Category