Eric Clapton - Money And Cigarettes

Just as 1974’s 461 Ocean Boulevard marked a confident return from the drug-aggravated funk that followed Layla, Eric Clapton’s first album for Warner Bros. is an unexpected show of renewed strength after a debilitating illness and too many sleepy records. Stylistically, Money and Cigarettes is no great leap forward from such recent Clapton blues-pop snoozers as Backless and Slowhand. He still mixes rote blues covers and barely original shuffles cut from J.J. Cale’s “After Midnight”/”Cocaine” mold with a shy, almost embarrassed understatement that is easily mistaken for superstar sloth. But the electricity quietly racing through Clapton’s crusty baritone and the saucy cluck of his and Ry Cooder’s dueling slide guitars in the album’s opener, a frisky cover of the old Sleepy John Estes number “Everybody Oughta Make a Change,” may catch you napping.


A1 Everybody Ought A Make Change  
A2 The Shape You're In  
A3 Ain't Going Down  
A4 I've Got A Rock N' Roll Heart  
A5 Man Overboard  
B1 Pretty Girl  
B2 Man In Love  
B3 Crosscut Saw  
B4 Slow Down Linda  
B5 Crazy Country Hop


SKU 0093624968832
Barcode # 0093624968832
Brand Rock/Pop

Others Also Bought

More From This Category