Gil Evans Orchestra - Great Jazz Standards

"Great Jazz Standards" - Budd Johnson (ts, cl); Steve Lacy (ss); Al Block (woodwinds); Johnny Coles, Allen Smith (tp); Jimmy Cleveland (tb); Bill Barber (tu); Gil Evans (p); Chuck Wayne (g);  Dick Carter (b); Elvin Jones (dr), a.o.

"Great Jazz Standards" was recorded when Evans was red-hot from two successes with Miles Davis, "Miles Ahead" and "Porgy And Bess". 
Evans' signature brass choir is in place - creatively voiced, spaciously arranged, a supple, multi-coloured, sonically surprising counterpoint to a succession of superb soloists. The added bonus, for Evans' projects, is the foregrounding of saxophone and clarinet soloists Steve Lacy and Budd Johnson. 
Lacy and the original swing-to-bop missing link, Johnson, are the ones who will make the hair on your neck curl. Lacy's solos on Monk's "Straight No Chaser" and John Lewis' "Django" must be some of the finest pre-free improvisations he recorded, already heading from quirky to out-there. Johnson's clarinet solo on Don Redman's spooky, swing-meets-whole tone classic, "Chant Of The Weed", and slow-burning, stirring tenor solo on Evans' "La Nevada" are some of the finest the all-but-forgotten genius ever recorded. Trumpeter Johnny Coles, has the inevitable misfortune of being compared to Miles Davis and being found to be ... different. Sunny, open and extroverted, he may not be a stylist of Davis' proportions, but he's an enjoyable alternative foil for Evans' arrangements. 
A magnificent but neglected album, and still coming up fresh as daisies.

Recording: February 1959
Production: Richard Bock


A1 Davenport Blues 4:25
A2 Straight No Chaser 6:19
A3 Ballad Of The Sad Young Men 3:48
A4 Joy Spring 2:47
B1 Django 8:07
B2 Chant Of The Weed 4:22
B3 Theme 6:15



SKU 5060149621394
Barcode # 5060149621394
Brand Jazz

More From This Category