Gorillaz: Gorillaz

Gorillaz is a cutely caricatured blend of Albarn's eclectic Brit-pop and Nakamura's equally wide-ranging hip-hop, and it sounds almost as good as the band looks. Albarn has fun sending up Blur's cheeky pop on songs like "5/4" and "Re-Hash," their trip-hop experiments on "New Genious" and "Sound Check," and "Song 2"-like thrash-pop on "Punk" and "M1 A1." Despite the similarities between Albarn's main gig and his contributions here, Gorillaz isn't an Albarn solo album in disguise; Nakamura's bass- and beat-oriented production gives the album an authentically dub and hip-hop-inspired feel, particularly on "Rock the House" and "Tomorrow Comes Today." Likewise, Del tha Funkee Homosapien, Miho Hatori, and Ibrahim Ferrer's vocals ensure that it sounds like a diverse collaboration rather than an insular side project. Instead, it feels like a musical vacation for all parties involved -- a little self-indulgent, but filled with enough fun ideas and good songs to make this virtual band's debut a genuinely enjoyable album.


A1 Re-Hash Vocals – Miho Hatori 3:40
A2 5/4 2:42
A3 Tomorrow Comes Today 3:14
A4 New Genious (Brother) 3:59
B5 Clint Eastwood Rap – Del Tha Funkee Homosapien 5:43
B6 Man Research (Clapper) 4:32
B7 Punk 1:38
B8 Sound Check (Gravity) 4:42
C9 Double Bass 4:46
C10 Rock The House Written-By [Co-written by] – Dan The Automator, Del Tha Funky Homosapien  4:11
C11 19-2000 Vocals – Miho Hatori, Tina Weymouth 3:29
C12 Latin Simone (Que Pasa Contigo) Vocals – Ibrahim Ferrer 3:38
D13 Starshine Producer – Jason Cox, Tom Girling 3:33
D14 Slow Country 3:37
D15 M1 A1 3:57
D16 Clint Eastwood (Ed Case/Sweetie Irie Refix) Remix – Ed Case, Sweetie Irie 4:28 


SKU 0724353113810
Brand Electronic

More From This Category