Herbie Hancock - Flood

Herbie Hancock and the Headhunters take to the road in the live double album Flood, recorded and released only in Japan. Contrary to the impression left by his American releases at this time, Hancock was still very much attached to the acoustic piano, as his erudite opening workout on "Maiden Voyage/Actual Proof" with his funk rhythm section makes clear. The electric keyboards, mostly Rhodes piano and clavinet, make their first appearances on side two, where Hancock now becomes more of a funky adjunct to the rhythm section, bumping along with a superb feeling for the groove while Bennie Maupin takes the high road above on a panoply of winds. Except for "Voyage," the tunes come from the Head Hunters, Thrust, and Man-Child albums (another reason why this was not released in the U.S.). "Chameleon" comes with a lengthy outbreak of machine pink noise that attests to Hancock's wide-eyed love of gadgetry. In all, this was a great funk band, not all that danceable because of the rapid complexities of Mike Clark's drumming, and quite often, full of harmonic depth and adventure. - AllMusic Review by Richard S. Ginell


A1 Introduction & Maiden Voyage 7:00
A2 Actual Proof 8:18
B1 Spank-A-Lee 8:49
B2 Watermelon Man 5:23
C1 Butterfly 12:43
C2 Chameleon 10:54
D Hang Up Your Hang Ups 19:27


SKU 4260019714992
Barcode # 4260019714992
Brand Fusion

More From This Category