• 1. Crisis
  • 2. 3 Views of a Secret
  • 3. Liberty City
  • 4. Chromatic Fantasy
  • 5. Blackbird
  • 6. Word of a Mouth
  • 7. John and Mary

Bassist Jaco Pastorius' Word of Mouth orchestra was an unfulfilled dream, a worthy concept that did not last long enough to live up to its potential. Its debut album was released without a listing of the personnel, so here it is: Wayne ShorterMichael Brecker, and Tom Scott on reeds, trumpeter Chuck Findley, the easily recognizable Toots Thielemans on harmonica, Howard Johnson on tuba, drummers Jack DeJohnette and Peter Erskine, and percussionist Don Alias. The music ranges from the Beatles' "Blackbird" and some Bach to Jaco originals that cover straight-ahead jazz, Coltrane-ish vamps, and fusion. Next to the bassist/leader, Thielemans emerges as the main voice.


SKU 8718469537365
Barcode # 8718469537365

More From This Category