John Coltrane - Both Directions At Once, The Lost Album (Deluxe 2 LP)

It’s hard to overstate the esteem which jazz fans hold the music of American saxophonist John Coltrane. And when it comes to the most-loved era of Coltrane’s music, it’s the ‘classic quartet’ of Coltrane, McCoy Tyner (piano), Jimmy Garrison (bass) and Elvin Jones (drums) and their recordings on the Impulse! label which get hearts racing.

After all, this is the group that created a clutch of legendary albums between 1962 and 1965. Namely the out-of-this-world A Love Supreme, as well as Coltrane, Ballads, Duke Ellington & John Coltrane, Crescent and John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman. Not a bad run – and that’s ignoring the quartet’s explosive live albums from that period, or the numerous other superb sides Coltrane cut with other players, such as famed Detroit guitarist Kenny Burrell.

So, to now discover – just like the family of Coltrane’s first wife Juanita Naima recently did – an entirely unheard recording session from the quartet in 1963 is quite a thing. Taped at Rudy Van Gelder’s busy New Jersey studio, the master tapes were long ago presumed lost. But as Coltrane was a stickler for listening back to his playing and would rehearse relentlessly, it’s unsurprising he kept a reference copy of this March session. It was recorded in a single day before they cut the Johnny Hartman album, with as many as six takes being laid down by the normally efficient quartet. Now, after collecting dust in Naima and John’s former Queens home for more than 54 years, the ‘lost’ album is finally able to be enjoyed. Rating=10/10 -


A1 Untitled Original 11383 (Take 1) 5:41
A2 Nature Boy 3:24
A3 Untitled Original 11386 (Take 1) 8:43
A4 Vilia (Take 3) 5:32
B1 Impressions (Take 3) 4:36
B2 Slow Blues 11:28
B3 One Up, One Down (Take 1) 8:01
C1 Vilia (Take 5) 4:37
C2 Impressions (Take 1) 4:06
C3 Impressions (Take 2) 4:37
C4 Impressions (Take 4) 3:40
D1 Untitled Original 11386 (Take 2) 8:41
D2 Untitled Original 11386 (Take 5) 8:23
D3 One Up, One Down 7:17


  • Bass – Jimmy Garrison
  • Drums – Elvin Jones
  • Piano – McCoy Tyner
  • Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – John Coltrane


SKU 0602567493013
Barcode # 0602567493013
Brand Jazz

More From This Category