Kate Bush - The Kick Inside


Kate Bush's first album, The Kick Inside, released when the singer/songwriter was only 19 years old (but featuring some songs written at 15 and recorded at 16), is her most unabashedly romantic, the sound of an impressionable and highly precocious teenager spreading her wings for the first time. The centerpiece is "Wuthering Heights," which was a hit everywhere except the United States (and propelled the Emily Brontë novel back onto the best-seller lists in England), but there is a lot else here to enjoy: The disturbing "Man with the Child in His Eyes," the catchy rocker "James and the Cold Gun," and "Feel It," an early manifestation of Bush's explorations of sexual experience in song, which would culminate with "Hounds of Love." As those familiar with the latter well know, she would do better work in the future, but this is still a mightily impressive debut.

 - AllMusic Review by 



A1 Moving  
A2 The Saxophone Song  
A3 Strange Phenomena  
A4 Kite  
A5 The Man With The Child In His Eyes  
A6 Wuthering Heights  
B1 James And The Cold Gun  
B2 Feel It  
B3 Oh To Be In Love  
B4 L'Amour Looks Something Like You  
B5 Them Heavy People  
B6 Room For The Life  
B7 The Kick Inside


SKU 0190295593919
Barcode # 0190295593919
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category