Live - Throwing Copper

On Throwing Copper, Live tightened their sound, added crashing crescendos for dramatic effect, and injected some anger into their sound and songwriting. They also eased up a bit on the Eastern philosophy; the result is a more cohesive, memorable record overall, and quite an improvement from the sometimes overly precious Mental Jewelry. And for all of Mental Jewelry's ideologies, Throwing Copper is ultimately a more passionate and successful album, thanks to tracks like "I Alone," "Selling the Drama," and "All Over You," all of which received heavy radio play. The rebirth-themed "Lightning Crashes," the album's biggest hit, was written in memory of Barbara Lewis, a classmate who was killed by a drunk driver in 1993. Other standouts include the Kurt Cobain/Courtney Love-inspired "Stage," the apocalyptic "White, Discussion," the bass-driven, obsessive "Iris," and the dark "Dam at Otter Creek." Of course, Ed Kowalczyk couldn't resist throwing in a song like "T.B.D." (for the Tibetan Book of the Dead), based on Aldous Huxley's slow descent into death, aided by heroin. Its melodrama is a bit much, even for Live, and is just a sign of things to come on their next album, Secret Samadhi. But Throwing Copper is still a huge improvement from Mental Jewelry, and is the least overtly preachy Live album to date. Rating=4.5 starsAllMusic Review by Gina Boldman


A1 The Dam At Otter Creek  
A2 Selling The Drama  
A3 I Alone  
A4 Iris  
A5 Lightning Crashes  
A6 Top  
A7 All Over You  
B1 Shit Towne  
B2 T.B.D.  
B3 Stage  
B4 Waitress  
B5 Pillar Of Davidson  
B6 White, Discussion  
B7 Horse


SKU 0600753402344
Barcode # 0600753402344
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category