Madlib ‎– Shades Of Blue

Madlib received a rare opportunity with unfettered access to the storied Blue Note archives and permission to use them as he wished for a remix/interpretation album released on Blue Note itself. The result, Shades of Blue, is really more of a Yesterdays New Quintet album, but Madlib's name is far more recognizable then his alter ego and faux-supergroup, YNQ. So, Shades of Blue features Madlibinterpreting and remixing Blue Note classics such as Wayne Shorter's "Footprints" and Gene Harris' "The Look of Slim" (remixed here as "Slim's Return"). Overall, a good time is had by all, as he doesn't just sample the tracks as much as fit them into his own sound. That's why the record would be better compared to the Yesterdays New Quintet debut, Angles Without Edges, where Madlib takes on the personas of numerous instrumentalists (going so far as to credit them individually in the liner notes) and make laid-back break-heavy jams that serve great as background party stuff -- and that's really where Shades of Blue works the best. Intent listening doesn't really give much up, but for smooth subconscious grooves, it's perfect.

Music On Vinyl ‎– MOVLP1898
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Numbered, Reissue, Blue / White Marbled, 180 Gram
30 Jun 2017
Electronic, Hip Hop, Jazz


A1 Introduction
A2 Slim's Return
Scratches [Cuts] – DJ Lord SuchVibraphone – MadlibWritten-By – Monk Higgins
A3 Distant Land
Written-By – Donald Byrd
A4 Mystic Bounce
Written-By – Ronnie Foster
B1 Stormy
Drums – Otis Jackson Jr.Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes] – Joe McDuphreyFlute – James KingGuitar – Dan UbickOrgan – Morgan Adams IIIPercussion – Derek HolmanPerformer – Morgan Adams Quartet Plus TwoWritten-By – B. Buie*, J.R. Cobb*
B2 Blue Note Interlude
B3 Please Set Me At Ease
Rap [Featuring] – M.E.D.*Sounds [Beats], Scratches [Cuts] – MadlibVibraphone – Ahmad MillerWritten-By – A. Mizell*, L. Mizell*, R. Mizell*
B4 Funky Blue Note
Drums, Percussion – Malcom CattoElectric Bass [Electric Muffle Bass] – Monk HughesFlute – James KingGuitar – Dan UbickOrgan – Morgan Adams IIIPerformer – Morgan Adams Quartet Plus TwoSynthesizer [Arpstring Ensemble] – Derek HolmanWritten-By – Otis Jackson, Jr.*
B5 Alfred Lion Interlude
C1 Stepping Into Tomorrow
Written-By – Laurence Mizell*
C2 Andrew Hill Break
Written-By – Andrew Hill
C3 Montara
Scratches [Cuts] – DJ Lord Such
D1 Song For My Father
Acoustic Bass [Acoustic Muffle Bass] – Jeff Jank, Monk HughesDrums – Lefty HoustonFeaturing – Sound DirectionsFlute – James KingGuitar – Dan UbickKeyboards, Organ – Joe McDuphreyPercussion – Malik FlavorsWritten-By – Horace Silver
D2 Footprints
Acoustic Bass – Monk HughesDrums – Joe Chambers, Otis Jackson Jr.Keyboards – Joe McDuphreyPercussion – Malik FlavorsPerformer – Yesterdays New QuintetVibraphone [Vibes] – Ahmad MillerWritten-By – Wayne Shorter
D3 Peace / Dolphin Dance
Bass – Russel JenkinsDrums – Otis Jackson Jr.Keyboards – Joe McDuphreyPerformer – Joe McDuphrey ExperienceWritten-By – H. Hancock*, H. Silver
D4 Outro


SKU 0600753766200
Barcode # 0602537781997
Brand Fusion

More From This Category