Marvin Gaye - What's Going On

It has been hailed as Marvin Gaye's masterpiece and soul music's finest moment. What's Going On, a song cycle focusing on the shattered American dream of the early 1970s, melded a darkly atmospheric, jazzy sound with heartfelt lyrics about the country's military plight abroad and socio‑economic problems at home, to create what many still perceive as the apex of artistic musical expression. Released in May 1971, Gaye's 11th studio album cast the singer‑songwriter‑musician with the four‑octave vocal range — who had spent the past decade recording sensual R&B hits — in the role of a disillusioned Vietnam War veteran. The reason for his disillusionment? On his return, he discovers that the America whose values he's been defending is plagued by poverty, police brutality, drug abuse, abandoned children, urban decay and civil unrest. In more ways than one, What's Going On was different to anything that Gaye or Motown had previously issued, taking its inspiration from the classic track of the same name that he'd recorded in June 1970 and which, in March 1971, hit number two on the Billboard Hot 100.


A1 What's Going On 4:00
A2 What's Happening Brother 2:57
A3 Flyin' High (In The Friendly Sky) 3:40
A4 Save The Children 4:06
A5 God Is Love 1:44
A6 Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) 3:03
B1 Right On 7:15
B2 Wholy Holy 3:06
B3 Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) 5:30


SKU 0600753534236
Barcode # 0600753534236
Brand Funk/Soul

More From This Category