Nazz: Fungo Bat Acetates

The Nazz came out of Philadelphia and they began to make a big splash late in 1967. They were unusual for their time combining elements of The Yardbirds, The Who, The Jimi Hendrix Experience, The Kinks and Cream. Their name "The Nazz" came from a Yardbirds song called "The Nazz Are Blue." They were a current band in 1968 and 1969. Just as groups like CSN&Y and Santana were starting to climb the charts and the Woodstock Nation loomed nearby, with everybody sporting beards, mustaches, T-shirts and jeans, the guys in the Nazz looked like The Tremeloes or The Small Faces. 

Nazz's second album was to be a double album (as per Todd's wishes), called Fungo Bat. Recording began in Nov 1968 and completed in Spring (March) 1969. Due to band members indifference & management decisions, it was never released as such and Todd left the band to pursue a solo career. Todd's personal copies of the Fungo Bat Acetates were among the possessions lost in a fire at his home. The source of the recordings are from an individual in Austin, Texas, who once owned one of the only known copies of the acetates for Fungo Bat. It was three 12" acetates, with typed labels. The track listing on the acetates are just in order, 24 tracks - if this was indeed the album order, what is listed above is the logical place for album side breaks

With Todd Rundgren - guitar; Robert "Stewkey" Antoni - vocals, keyboards; Carson Van Osten - bass; Thom Mooney - drums.


A1 Forget All About It 3:31
A2 There's Only One Winner 3:00
A3 Magic Me 3:04
A4 Gonna Cry Today 3:18
A5 Meridian Leeward 3:23
A6 Under The Ice 5:45
B1 Some People 3:39
B2 Rain Rider 3:55
B3 Resolution 2:35
B4 Old Time Lovemaking 2:24
B5 Featherbedding Lover 2:58
B6 Take The Hand 2:12
B7 How Can You Call That Beautiful? 3:39
C1 Loosen Up 1:27
C2 Sing a Song/Good Lovin' Woman/Sing a Song (reprise) 2:15
C3 It's Not That Easy 2:31
C4 Plenty of Lovin' 3:45
C5 Letters Don't Count 3:23
C6 Kiddie Boy 3:28
C7 Christopher Columbus 3:21
D1 Hang On Paul 2:49
D2 Not Wrong Long 2:35
D3 You Are My Window 5:57
D4 A Beautiful Song 11:31


SKU 0089353341022
Barcode # 0089353341022

Others Also Bought

More From This Category

The Kills: Ash & Ice (2xLP)

The Kills: Ash & Ice (2xLP)


Make 4 interest-free payments of $8.50 fortnightly and receive your order now.

31% OFF RRP $49.00