Neil Young + Promise Of The Real: The Visitor

If you were a cynic, you might think that this is exactly the sort of record that you would expect a child of the sixties to make. Of course, he’s anti-Republican. He’d be against anyone in power, surely? The great thing about “The Visitor” is that Young does more than rattle his sabre, in the way that Juliana Hatfield did on her anti-Trump magnum opus of this year, “Pussycat” – Young is more measured and reflective. He’s angry, but he’s “working on solutions” as he says in “Forever”. Of course, it’s a protest album, but he gets all the bluff and bluster out of the way pretty early on. Then the conversation starts.

Another year. Another Neil Young album. It’s unfair to compare 2017 Neil Young with “Harvest” era Neil Young, but consciously or subconsciously, we always will. Where does “The Visitor” rank in his seemingly endless back catalogue? It’s a bit too early to say, but 2017 Neil Young can hold his head high. Rating 83% -


A1 Already Great 5:48
A2 Fly By Night Deal
Harmonica [Electric], Piano – Neil Young
A3 Almost Always
Harmonica – Neil YoungOrgan [Pump Organ] – Micah Nelson
A4 Stand Tall 5:13
B1 Change Of Heart
Glockenspiel, Mandolin, Organ [Pump Organ] – Micah NelsonWhistle – Neil Young
B2 Carnival
Organ [Calliope], Organ [Pump Organ] – Micah NelsonPerformer [Air Bottle] – Corey McCormick, Lukas Nelson, Micah Nelson, Neil Young
B3 Diggin' A Hole
Piano – Neil Young
C1 Children Of Destiny
Backing Vocals – Gina Seo, Jenna Vitolo, Paula Salvatore, Stephanie WittmerBass – David Parmeter, Ed Meares*, Mike ValerioBassoon – Ken Munday, Rose CorriganCello – Cecilia Tsan, Giovanna Clayton*, Ross Gasworth, Timothy Loo, Trevor Handy, Vanessa Freebairn Smith*Clarinet – Dan Higgins, Don Foster, Stuart ClarkCo-producer, Arranged By, Orchestrated By, Conductor – Chris WaldenContractor [Music, Assistant] – Whitney MartinContractor [Music] – Gina ZimmittiCoordinator [Production For ProChordNation] – Cindi PetersEngineer – Chandler Harrod, Steve GenewickFlute – Heather Clark, Jenni OlsonFrench Horn – Allen Fogle, Dave Everson, Jennie Kim, Mark Adams (10)Harp – Katie KirkpatrickMastered By – Richard DoddMixed By, Recorded By – Al SchmittMusic Librarian – Josef ZimmermanOboe – Lara WickesProducer – The Volume DealersTrombone – Alan Kaplan, Andy Martin, Bill Reichenbach (2), Steven HoltmanTrumpet – Jon Lewis, Rob Schaer, Thomas Hooten (2), Wayne BergeronTuba [Cimbass], Tuba – Doug Tornquist, Gary HickmanViola – Alma Fernandez, Brian Dembow, Caroline Buckman, Luke Maurer, Matt Funes, Shawn MannViolin – Belinda Broughton, Charlie Bisharat, Christian Hebel, Grace Oh, Ina Veli, Joel Pargman, Katia Popov, Lucia Micarelli, Mark Robertson (3), Natalie Leggett, Nina Evtuhov, Phil Levy*, Radu Pieptea, Sara Parkins, Serena McKinney, Songa Lee*, Tamara Hatwan, Tereza Stanislav
C2      When Bad Got Good           1:58
C3 Forever 10:31 


SKU 0093624909194
Barcode # 0093624909194
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category