Otis Redding ‎– The Dock Of The Bay

It was never supposed to be like this: "(Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay" was supposed to mark the beginning of a new phase in Otis Redding's career, not an ending. Producer/guitarist Steve Cropper had a difficult task to perform in pulling together this album, the first of several posthumous releases issued by Stax/Volt in the wake of Redding's death. What could have been a cash-in effort or a grim memorial album instead became a vivid, exciting presentation of some key aspects of the talent that was lost when Redding died. Dock of the Bay is, indeed, a mixed bag of singles and B-sides going back to July of 1965, one hit duet with Carla Thomas, and two, previously unissued tracks from 1966 and 1967. There's little cohesion, stylistic or otherwise, in the songs, especially when the title track is taken into consideration -- nothing else here resembles it, for the obvious reason that Redding never had a chance to follow it up. Despite the mix-and-match nature of the album, however, this is an impossible record not to love. Cropper chose his tracks well, selecting some of the strongest and most unusual among the late singer's orphaned songs: "I Love You More Than Words Can Say" is one of Redding's most passionate performances; "Let Me Come on Home" presents an ebullient Redding accompanied by some sharp playing, and "Don't Mess with Cupid" begins with a gorgeous guitar flourish and blooms into an intense, pounding, soaring showcase for singer and band alike. No one could complain about the album then, and it still holds more than four decades later. - B. Eder allmusic.com


A1 (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay Written-By – Otis Redding, Steve Cropper 2:38
A2 I Love You More Than Words Can Say Written-By – Booker T. Jones, Eddie Floyd 2:50
A3 Let Me Come On Home Written-By – Booker T. Jones, Otis Redding 2:53
A4 Open The Door Written-By – Otis Redding 2:21
A5 Don't Mess With Cupid Written-By – Deanie Parker, Eddie Floyd, Steve Cropper 2:28
B1 The Glory Of Love Written-By – Billy Hill 2:38
B2 I'm Coming Home Written-By – Otis Redding 3:03
B3 Tramp Featuring – Carla Thomas Vocals – Otis Redding Written-By – James McCracklin, Lowell Fulsom 2:32
B4 The Huckle-Buck Written-By – Andy Gibson, Roy Alfred 2:58
B5 Nobody Knows You (When You're Down And Out) Written-By – Jimmie Cox 3:10
B6 Ole Man Trouble Written-By – Otis Redding 2:36


Volt ‎– VOLT 419, Rhino Records ‎– R1-419
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Mono, 180gr 
06 Dec 2014
Funk / Soul
Rhythm & Blues, Soul

Otis Redding - The Dock Of The Bay

Release  Needs Vote 

Volt, Rhino Records (2) VOLT 419 LP, Album, Mono, RE, 180 2014 US

Barcode: 81227 95639 4
Barcode: 081227956394


SKU 0081227956394
Barcode # 0081227956394
Brand Funk/Soul

More From This Category