Maurice Ravel: "Shéhérazade" / Hector Berlioz: "Les Nuits d'Eté" - Régine Crespin and the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande conducted by Ernest Ansermet

At the time when Ravel set down "Shéhérazade", and although he had already composed such works as "Pavane pour une Infante defunte" and "Jeux d’eau", – regarded today as excellent – the young composer was still struggling for recognition. Five times he tried to win the prestigious "Prix de Rome", France’s highest musical award, but barely achieved more than limited acclaim.
Ravel’s provocative assertion that he didn’t follow any particular musical direction, but was an anarchist is reflected in his free, wonderfully interwoven composition "Shéhérazade". A touch of the Orient is entwined with late-romantic harmony and an impressionistic, modern brilliance, whose depth calls for and merits repeated listening.
Ravel shares the lot of a misunderstood genius with Hector Berlioz. Written in 1832, his cycle "Les Nuits d’Eté", with its pulsating and arietta-like but also morbid and ghostly songs, provide a wonderful example of a composition from the French Romantic era. The present superb performance was highly acclaimed by producer and author G. A. Eckle, who stated »Régine Crespin is the embodiment of quality when it comes to French repertoire in her category«.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.

Recording: September 1963 at Victoria Hall, Geneva (Switzerland), by James Lock
Production: Michael Bremner


A1 Asie  
A2 La Flûte Enchantée  
A3 L'Indifférent  
  Nuits D'Été  
A4 Villanelle  
A5 Le Spectre De La Rose  
B1 Absence  
B2 Sur Les Lagunes  
B3 Au Cimetière  
B4 L'Île Inconnue


SKU 4260019714046
Barcode # 4260019714046
Brand Classical

More From This Category