Ry Cooder - Chicken Skin Music

The title of Ry Cooder's Chicken Skin Music – Hawaiian slang for goosebumps – serves as a direct, simple description of the album's emotional appeal. But it barely scratches the surface of a 1976 effort that triggered an interest in "world music" a decade before the term became commonplace and a genre into and of itself. Part of a series of inimitable mid-1970s records on which Cooder ignored traditional boundaries and instigated lasting cross-cultural communication, Chicken Skin Music blends gospel, Hawaiian, folk, blues, and Tex-Mex styles into a brilliant roots stew distinguished with virtuosic playing and inspired contextual surprises.

Mastered from the original master tapes, pressed at RTI, and strictly limited to 3000 numbered copies, our 180g vinyl LP of Chicken Skin Music brings the brilliant instrumental textures and lively tonalities to the fore like no prior analog edition. Graced with silent, black backgrounds and generous soundstages, this reissue particularly underscores the depth of Flaco Jimenez's accordion contributions. You'll hear the air flowing through the reeds, pressure resonating from the bellows, and the wide-spanning timbres emanating from the register stops.

Equally transfixing are the lifelike manners in which the rich assortment of guitars come alive, with each note occupying its own space and portraying a character unique to the individual instrument, be it a slack-key, steel, or acoustic guitar. The result is a multi-detailed, organic-sounding musical tapestry that dazzles by way of beautiful interplay, unexpected dialogue, and connective eclecticism that proves music is indeed a common language when executed with a collaborative mindset, innovative exploration, and respectful authenticity – no easy feats, but achievements fully on display on Chicken Skin Music.

Source: Mobile Fidelity


A1 The Bourgeois Blues 3:22
A2 I Got Mine 4:28
A3 Always Lift Him Up / Kanaka Wai Wai 6:01
A4 He'll Have To Go 5:07
B1 Smack Dab In The Middle 3:18
B2 Stand By Me 3:38
B3 Yellow Roses 6:11
B4 Chloe 3:00
B5 Goodnight Irene 4:32


SKU 0821797146517
Barcode # 0821797146517
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category