Sarah Vaughan - In Hi-Fi

Most of Sarah Vaughan's  Columbia recordings were on the commercial side, but not the memorable selections on this wonderful vinyl reissue. She recorded eight selections in 1950 with an octet that included trumpeter Miles Davis, trombonist Benny Green, the remarkably cool clarinetist Tony Scott and tenorman Budd Johnson. This double LP adds alternate takes to seven of the numbers, none on the original single LP release. This version of "Ain't Misbehavin'" is a true classic (with memorable eight-bar solos by each of the four horns); "Mean To Me" and "Nice Work If You Can Get It" are gems, and the other performances are not far behind. In addition, Vaughan sings two versions of "The Nearness Of You" in 1949; there is also a previously unknown recording of "It's All In The Mind," and three orchestra numbers from 1951 and 1953 wrap up the outstanding reissue. Sassy has rarely sounded better.

Recording: December 1949, May 1950 and December 1952 in mono


A1 East Of The Sun  
A2 Nice Work If You Can Get It  
A3 Pinky  
A4 The Nearness Of You  
A5 Come Rain Or Come Shine  
A6 Mean To Me  
B1 It Might As Well Be Spring  
B2 Can´t Get Out Of This Mood  
B3 Spring Will Be A Little Late This Year  
B4 Ooh, Wat-cha Doin´ To Me  
B5 Goodnight My Love  
B6 Ain´t Misbehavin´  
C1 It´s All In The Mind  
C2 The Nearness Of You (Alt. Take)  
C3 Ain´t Misbehavin´ (Alt. Take)  
C4 Goodnight My Love (Alt. Take)  
C5 Can´t Get Out Of This Mood (Alt. Take)  
D1 It Might As Well Be Spring (Alt. Take)  
D2 Mean To Me (Alt. Take)  
D3 Come Rain Or Come Shine (Alt. Take)  
D4 East Of The Sun (Alt. Take) (Alt. Take)  


SKU 5060149620366
Barcode # 5060149620366
Brand Jazz

More From This Category