Simple Minds ‎– New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)

New Gold Dream is the fifth album by the celebrated Caledonian rockers. Released in 1982, it is widely considered to be a turning point for the band, a bridge between their post punk roots and stadium-filling destiny, and gathered enormous critical acclaim as well as impressive sales. Listed in the estimable tome '1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die' New Gold Dream was a discernible move toward a more a commercial sound and it entered the UK chart at number 3, yielding the hit singles Promised You a Miracle and Glittering Prize. - The latter track and the synth-heavy Someone Somewhere in Summertime in particular represented a shift towards undisguised pop and it's also worth noting that Hunter and Hunted features a solo by Jazz keyboardist Herbie Hancock, a rare distinction for any rock/pop album.


A1      Someone Somewhere In Summertime           4:37
A2 Colours Fly And Catherine Wheel 3:48
A3 Promised You A Miracle 4:25
A4 Big Sleep 4:58
A5 Somebody Up There Likes You 4:56
B1 New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84) 5:38
B2 Glittering Prize 4:33
B3 Hunter And The Hunted 5:53
B4 King Is White And In The Crowd 6:59


SKU 0602547337528
Barcode # 0602547337528
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category