Soul Jazz Presents: - Nu Yorica! Culture Clash In New York City: Experiments In Latin Music 1970-77 Vol.1

This is the 20th anniversary expanded edition of one of Soul Jazz Records earliest definitive releases: ‘Nu Yorica : Culture Clash In New York City – Experiments in Latin Music 1970-77’, a stunning and ground-breaking collection of music bringing together Latin, Soul, Jazz, Funk and more from the melting pot of New York City in the 1970s.

Out-of-print for more than ten years this new edition has been fully digitally remastered with new tracks, additional photography and is released as a deluxe 2CD pack + large outsize booklet, as well as a new edition of two super-loud super-heavy separate volumes of double vinyl. The album is also available for the first time as a worldwide digital release.

Nu Yorica! is one of Soul Jazz Records most critically acclaimed albums of all time.

The album features seminal Latin artists such as Eddie Palmieri, Joe Bataan, Machito, Ocho, Grupo Folklorico, Cortijo, Ricardo Marrero, Cachao and many more.


“A brilliant introduction to some of the most energising & misunderstood music ever” Wire

“A truly inspired selection. If ever a CD was worth buying, this is it” The Guardian (CD of the week)

“A percussive colossus. Mighty and frightening.” Q

“If you buy one CD this week buy Nu Yorica!” The Observer

“Soul Jazz go beyond dancefloor trends and explore the political agendas’ of their musical idols with this brave and diverse album” Maxim

“From gritty funk to free-form experimentation, Soul Jazz’s selection of Latin-influenced dance music is sterling” The Face

“A challenging and revelatory compilation of pure quality” Music Week

“Positively throbs with energy.” NME

“This music has influenced everything from Salsoul Disco to the Masters at Work”DJ

“An excellent document of a key phase in musical history. Every single one of these tracks is superb. An absolute f***ing blinder” Echoes

“Genre defying madness” Select

“An utterly brilliant and well documented snapshot of the musical culture clash in 70’s New York” Muzik

“Miraculous” Time Out, New York


A1 Charlie Palmieri Las Negritas De Carnaval 4:08
A2 Cortijo Y Su Maquina Del Tiempo Gumbo 7:57
B1 Cachao La Trompeta Y La Flauta 9:07
B2 Ricardo Marrero & The Group Babalonia 5:40
C1 Stone Alliance Amigos 5:05
C2 Joe Bataan Latin Strut 4:03
C3 Grupo Folklorico Y Experimental Nuevayorquino Anabacoa 6:21
D1 Tempo 70 El Galleton 3:09
D2 Eddie Palmieri Un Dia Bonita 14:48


SKU 5026328003092
Barcode # 5026328003092
Brand World

More From This Category