Spiderbait - Ivy And The Big Apples

The Unfinished Spanish Galleon of Finley Lake made Spiderbait stars in Australia, and Ivy and the Big Apples consolidated their position as one of the most popular Australian bands of the late 90s. The gap between those two albums saw them trying to bring a more melodic approach to their music, which is certainly a welcome change. But once again this release is more of the same: buzzing guitars and half-sung, half-shouted vocals. However, songs like "Calypso" (with bass player Janet English on vocals, doing her best Juliana Hatfield impersonation) provide some respite from the thrashy punk of the rest of the disc.
While Spiderbait is starting to transcend their influences, they still have a long way to go before their music could be regarded as anything but disposable. Rating 4/5 Stars AllMusic Review by Jonathan Lewis


A1 Chest Hair
A2 Hot Water & Milk
A3 Buy Me A Pony
A4 When Fusion Ruled The Earth
A5 Calypso
A6 Goin' Off
A7 Don't Kill Nipper
A8 Horschack Army
A9 Conjunctivitis
B1 Joyce's Hut
B2 Jasper
B3 Goosh
B4 Should Have Done What My Mum Always Told Me To
B5 Hey
B6 Hawaiian Nights
B7 Driving Up The Ceiling


SKU 0602547836380
Barcode # 0602547836380
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category