Sun Ra - Calling Planet Earth 

When Walt Whitman wrote, »I am vast; I contain multitudes,« he could have been channeling Sun Ra. The man born Herman Blount in Alabama, who claimed he was from Saturn, was equally at home reviving Fletcher Henderson compositions based on their original arrangements or unleashing totally free-form, athematic group improvisation - and many styles in between.
Recorded live in concert at Tivoli Hall in Copenhagen, Denmark on December 5, 1971, the appropriately titled "Calling Planet Earth" captures Sun Ra and his Arkestra in their absolute prime exploring some of the most far out material of their madcap career. The 9-track odyssey features pieces from the "Discipline" series and further atypical fare like "Enlightenment" and "Love In Outer Space".
"Calling Planet Earth" received its first ever vinyl release on exclusive colored LP for Record Store Day 2015 and is now being offered as a wide release on 140-gram black vinyl courtesy of ORG Music. 


Sun Ra (keyb); Danny Davis (as, fl); Marshall Allen (as, fl, ob, dr); Pat Patrick (bs, fl, dr); John Gilmore (ts, dr); Bernard Pettaway (tb); Teddy Nance (tb, dr); Kwame Hadi (tp, dr); Ronnie Boykins (b); Clifford Jarvis (perc); Nimrod Hunt (dr); a.o.


A1 Untitled Percussion Intro  
A2 Discipline No. 5  
A3 Discipline No. 5 (Alto Sax Solo / Reprise)  
A4 Discipline No. 10  
A5 Enlightenment  
A6 Love In Outer Space  
B1 Discipline No. 15  
B2 The Satellites Are Spinning  
B3 Calling Planet Earth  
B4 The Outers  
B5 Adventures Outer Planes


SKU 0711574709618
Barcode # 0711574709618
Brand Jazz

More From This Category