The Pixies - Doolittle 25  (Limited Edition Triple Vinyl - includes B-Sides, Peel Sessions & Demos)

After 1988's brilliant but abrasive Surfer Rosa, the Pixies' sound couldn't get much more extreme. On Doolittle, they reined in the noise in favor of pop songcraft and accessibility. Producer Gil Norton's sonic sheen adds some polish, but Black Francis' tighter songwriting focuses the group's attack. Doolittle's most ferocious moments, like "Dead," a visceral retelling of David and Bathsheba's affair -- are more stylized than the group's past outbursts. Meanwhile, the band's poppy side surfaces on the irresistible single "Here Comes Your Man" and the sweetly surreal love song "La La Love You." The Pixies mix their arty weirdness with just enough hooks to produce gleefully demented singles like "Debaser" -- inspired by Buñuel's classic surrealist short Un Chien Andalou -- and "Wave of Mutilation," their surfy ode to driving a car into the sea. Though Doolittle's sound is cleaner and smoother than the Pixies' earlier albums, there are still plenty of weird, abrasive vignettes: the blankly psychotic "There Goes My Gun," "Crackity Jones," a song about a crazy roommate Francis had in Puerto Rico, and the nihilistic finale "Gouge Away." Meanwhile, "Tame" and "I Bleed" continue the band's penchant for cryptic kink. But the album doesn't just refine the Pixies' sound; they also expand their range on the brooding, wannabe spaghetti Western theme "Silver" and the strangely theatrical "Mr. Grieves." "Hey" and "Monkey Gone to Heaven," on the other hand, stretch Francis' lyrical horizons: "Monkey"'s elliptical environmentalism and "Hey"'s twisted longing are the Pixies' versions of message songs and romantic ballads. Their most accessible album, Doolittle's wide-ranging moods and sounds make it one of their most eclectic and ambitious. A fun, freaky alternative to most other late-'80s college rock, it's easy to see why the album made the Pixies into underground rock stars. Rating=5/5 starsReview by Heather Phares


  B Sides
A1 Manta Ray 2:40
A2 Weird At My School 1:58
A3 Dancing The Manty Ray 2:14
A4 Wave Of Mutilation (UK Surf) 3:02
A5 Into The White 4:43
A6 Bailey's Walk 2:24
  Peel Sessions 18/10/88
B1 Dead 3:18
B2 Tame 1:58
B3 There Goes My Gun 2:18
B4 Manta Ray 2:15
  Peel Sessions 02/05/89
B5 Into The White 4:11
B6 Wave Of Mutilation 2:31
B7 Down To The Well 2:14
C1 Debaser 3:00
C2 Tame 2:10
C3 Wave Of Mutilation (First Demo) 2:04
C4 I Bleed 1:46
C5 Here Comes Your Man (1986 Demo) 3:07
C6 Dead 1:35
C7 Monkey Gone To Heaven 2:52
C8 Mr. Grieves 1:42
C9 Crackity Jones 1:21
D1 La La Love You 2:08
D2 No. 13 Baby Viva La Lomo Rica (First Demo) 2:17
D3 There Goes My Gun 1:29
D4 Hey (First Demo) 3:22
D5 Silver 2:11
D6 Gouge Away 1:42
D7 My Manta Ray Is All Right 2:30
D8 Santo 2:17
D9 Weird At My School (First Demo) 1:53
  Original Album
E1 Debaser 2:51
E2 Tame 1:56
E3 Wave Of Mutilation 2:04
E4 I Bleed 2:34
E5 Here Comes Your Man 3:21
E6 Dead 2:21
E7 Monkey Gone To Heaven 2:56
F1 Mr. Grieves 2:05
F2 Crackity Jones 1:24
F3 La La Love You 2:43
F4 No. 13 Baby 3:51
F5 There Goes My Gun 1:43
F6 Hey 3:31
F7 Silver 2:25
F8 Gouge Away 2:43


SKU 0652637342512
Barcode # 0652637342512
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category