The Rolling Stones -The Rolling Stones (England's Newest Hit Makers)

The British version of the Stones' first album has a nearly identical cover to its American equivalent, issued six weeks later, but a slightly different song lineup. Among these 12 songs, absent is "Not Fade Away," which was a hit single in England (where singles and LPs were usually kept separate), and in its place is the Stones' cover of Bo Diddley's "Mona (I Need You Baby)" (credited here as "I Need You Baby"), which had to wait until Rolling Stones Now!, a year later, for its U.S. release. It's not a big switch, a Bo Diddley-style cover of a Buddy Holly song bumping an actual Bo Diddley cover on the U.S. version. Otherwise, the main difference lies in the version of "Tell Me" included here, which sounds about two generations hotter than any edition of the song ever released in the U.S. -- it's the long version, with the break that was cut from the single, but the British LP and the original late-'80s Decca U.K. compact disc (820 047-2) both contain a version without any fade, running the better part of a minute longer than the U.S. release of the song, until the band literally stops playing.


A1 Not Fade Away
A2 Route 66
A3 I Just Want To Make Love To You
A4 Honest I Do
A5 Now I've Got A Witness
A6 Little By Little
B1 I'm A King Bee
B2 Carol
B3 Tell Me
B4 Can I Get A Witness
B5 You Can Make It If You Try
B6 Walking The Dog
Label: ABKCO ‎– 882 316-1
Series: ABKCO's The Rolling Stones Dsd Remastered –
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo, Reissue, Remastered,
Country: UK & Europe
Released: 2003
Genre: Rock, Funk / Soul, Blues
Style: Electric Blues, Rock & Roll, Chicago Blues, Rhythm & Blues


SKU 0042288231615
Barcode # 0042288231615
Brand Rock/Pop

More From This Category

Prince: Prince (LP)

Prince: Prince (LP)


Make 4 interest-free payments of $11.00 fortnightly and receive your order now.